The following table shows the buttons that appear on many screens.

Button Meaning
Apply
 
update the record with the changes made, but allow further editing to continue
Cancel
 
close the window without updating the record (note that any changes made by pressing the Apply button will be preserved)
Delete
 
delete the selected item. Note that this is normally a bad idea - it is better to Deactivate the item. Also in many cases, you will not be able to delete the item because it is referred to by others. If this is the case you will be offered the option of deactivating it.
Edit
 
edit the selected item. You can also normally edit an item by clicking again on the selected item.
New create a new item
Next go forward to the next record. If you have been editing, you will be asked if the changes are to be saved or discarded.
OK update the record and close the window
Previous go back to the previous record. If you have been editing, you will be asked if the changes are to be saved or discarded.
Print print the selected item
View view the selected item
(Alt-V) on screens where there is a Print button and no View button, you can use the Alt-V keyboard shortcut to preview the print without calling up the Print screen.
Syndicate content